Old School Hollywood Glamour

What’s in the Closet?  Class Edition…

Ooops…Did is say hair edition?  What I meant to say was wardrobe raid; closet make over, Class Edition.  Okay, well really I just over looked the fact that I needed to wash my hair today, so for any of you who do you hair often, you know a French twist wouldn’t really work all that well.  Elaborate hairstyles are way better with day old hair, so we’ll just have to save the French twist how-to for tomorrow.  Today we’re going to take the plunge into the depths of my closet to pull out a few classic outfits.

Surprisingly, while I was going through my closet trying to decide what to wear, I actually had a bit of a hard time.  Although this is one of my favorite styles, I don’t necessarily wear it all the time, so to my surprise I actually had a bit of a hard time coming up with outfit….weird, I know.  But I guess that is part of the point of this style exercise.  For those of you who are like me, living on a budget and don’t exactly have tons of money to makeover your wardrobe to your every whim, we just have to deal with what we have.  So I dug through my clothes and pulled out items that I thought went well with the classic look.  Take a look to see what you think…

Outfit number one, business casual.  I chose loose-fitting boot cut jeans and a white t because they cut such a classic figure.  I thought the black blazer really made the outfit business like, but still casual and comfortable.

I loved how beautiful I felt, even in this simple outfit.

 

Outfit number two, this would be a perfect back to school outfit.  It’s the perfect mix of classy and trendy, and it would look really cute with a french twist!

Skirts and Cardigans; is there anything better?

Outfit number three, this whole style had a really old-fashioned glamorous feel to it, but I wanted to tone it down a bit to something I could wear to just lounge around in on a Saturday morning.  This outfit was cozy but still classic.

All I need is a cup of Cocoa and a good book!

Outfit number four, to really round out this photo shoot I went with an uber-classic dress that I could totally see Audrey Hepburn wearing.  I felt beautiful in every outfit, but in this last outfit I felt beyond beautiful; there is an elegance and subtle glamour about this style that really appeals to the girl in me.

Saved the best for last :)

I would wear any of these outfits again (and probably will).  I loved how the hair and makeup made me feel like a movie star.  I thought I went a little overboard with the winged eyeliner because it looked pretty dramatic when I first put it on, but after I added mascara and when I looked back through the picture, I realized you could hardly see it!  But it did make my lashes appear fuller and longer, a really nice little trick.  I wasn’t used to doing curls like this, I basically used a mix between my straightener and curling iron, usually I leave my curls a little more unruly and free, but I really liked this slightly more tamed look.  It looked and felt really elegant.  All in all I felt like a million bucks trying out this new style, it’ll definitely be a fall back for me in the future.

Things I learned while trying this style; #1: I need new eye-liner!  Don’t try to use old eye-liner of a pencil, it just doesn’t work very well, liquid eyeliner is the best. #2: Less really is more, simple understated makeup made me feel so beautiful!  3#: I really don’t have as many “classic” pieces as I thought!

 

Let me know what you think...